Managing Your Account in the Portal

Note

This page describes the legacy user management for the portal. It will be retired soon in favor of the new role-based access control. This allows you to set up custom roles so that the users in your enterprise only have access to the properties and functions required for their role. For example, you can set up a basic security role that only allows viewing security analytics information and maintaining network blacklists, without permitting  viewing, creating or changing other configurations on the service. Or, you could set up a role that allows viewing CDN analytics and running cache purge operations, but not have access to the security capabilities on our service.

We will be updating existing customer accounts to use this new capability over the next couple of months. If you want to get access sooner, please reach out to Instart support.

Instart Product Management, 14 March 2019

The Account page is visible only to admin-level users. From this page, you can view existing users, add new users, edit existing user information, or delete existing users.

Adding a new user

At the top of the Users List is the Add New User button. Clicking on it opens a form to add information for a new user.

The available fields are:

  • Name
  • Email
  • Phone number (optional)
  • User Name (optional; not currently settable, automatically set to the email address)
  • Enabled/Disabled (used to temporarily disable access without deleting the account)
  • Role

There are two types of role, Admin and User.

  • A standard User role allows you to log into the portal and view the delivery and performance information displayed there, and create cache purge requests.
  • An Admin can additionally create, edit, and delete accounts for standard users and modify property configurations.

When you have finished entering the information, click the Save button. 

The system will send a message to the email address entered. The new user, upon receipt of the email message, follows a link to set his password. The chosen password must have at least one uppercase letter, digit, and special character, and must be at least 12 characters in length.


Editing a user

To change user information, locate the name in the Users list and click on it. The User Details page opens displayed with the user's information shown:

The form also shows if two-factor authentication is enabled for this account. We use Google Authenticator as the second factor.

If a user loses their phone, you can click the Reset Two-Factor Authentication button. When you do, the user will need to go through the process of setting up their two-factor authentication the next time they log in.

If two-factor authentication is not enabled for your account, and you wish to enable it, please contact Support.

When you have finished entering the information, click the Save button.


Deleting a user

To delete a user, locate the name in the Users list and click on it. The User Details page opens displayed with the user's information shown, as above. Click the Delete User button. A warning box like the following is displayed:

If you are indeed sure, click the Yes button.